Home > News > News

How to Choose Fastener?

Oct. 27, 2020

The parameters that need to be marked for fasteners are: product name (standard), specification, material, strength grade, and surface treatment. Fastener supplier provides detailed information to teach you how to choose it.

1. Product name (standard)

The most influential standards in the world are: German Standard (DIN), International Standard (ISO), Chinese National Standard (GB), American Standard (ANSI), Japanese Standard (JIS).

Anchor Bolt

Anchor Bolt

2. Specifications

The general name of the screw is the diameter of the tooth pattern * the length of the screw. The length of the screw refers to the effective length of the embedded object. For specifications, the full name is best to add a pitch.

3. Material

The most common materials are carbon steel, stainless steel, stainless iron, copper, aluminum, etc. The most common materials are carbon steel, stainless steel, stainless iron, copper, aluminum, etc.

Carbon steel is divided into low carbon steel (such as C1008/C1010/C1015/C1018/C1022), medium carbon steel (such as C1035), high carbon steel (C1045/C1050), alloy steel (SCM435/10B21/40Cr). Generally, C1008 is made of ordinary grade products, such as grade 4.8 screws and ordinary grade nuts; C1015 is generally used for eye screws; C1018 is generally used for machine screws, and of course, there are also used for self-tapping screws; C1022 is generally used for self-tapping screws; C1035 with 8.8-grade screws; C1045/10B21/40Cr with 10.9 grade screws; 40Cr/SCM435 with 12.9 grade screws.

Stainless steel has SS302/SS304/SS316 as the most common. Of course, a large number of SS201 products are also popular now, even products with lower nickel content, we call non-authentic stainless steel products; the appearance looks similar to stainless steel, but the corrosion resistance is much different.

4. Strength level

The strength grade mainly refers to carbon steel fasteners.

The common strength grades of carbon steel screws are 4.8, 5.8, 6.8, 8.8, 10.9, and 12.9. The nuts are correspondingly: level 4, level 6, level 8, level 10, and level 12. Generally, screws below grade 8.8 are called ordinary screws, while those above grade 8.8 (including grade 8.8) are high-strength screws. The difference is that high-strength screws need to undergo quenching and tempering heat treatment.

Square Washers

Square Washers

5. Surface treatment

The surface treatment is mainly to increase the anti-corrosion performance, but also partly takes into account the color, so it is mainly for carbon steel products, which generally require surface treatment.

Common surface treatments include: blackening, galvanizing, copper plating, nickel plating, chrome plating, silver plating, gold plating, dacromet, hot-dip galvanizing, etc.; There are many types of galvanizing, including blue and white zinc, blue zinc, white zinc, yellow zinc, black zinc, green zinc, etc., and also divided into environmental protection and non-environmental protection. Each type of plating has a variety of coating thicknesses to meet different requirements. The effect of salt spray test.

Through the above information, the most suitable fastener can be selected.  Dapeng provide customized fastener.

+86 159 3090 1298 1012351629

Copyright © Handan Dapeng Power Equipment Manufacturing Co., Ltd. | Sitemap | Technical Support